WEEK 1 – WELCOME! , IP RESEARCH

Welcome to my first blog post! I will be updating this once or more per week with my personal progress within the project.

I can’t wait for us to get started. My team and I were previously known to each other and we approached the idea of a capstone project together late last year as we respected each other’s talent and work ethic and felt our skillset was sufficiently balanced.

The first thing I looked to complete in week 1 was my research on copyright, trademarks and intellectual property.

I found that trademark is applicable to brands and company names or holders, unlike copyright which is applicable to tangible products such as code saved on a hard-drive.

The below information is sourced from an Australian Government-run website:

  • “There’s no such thing as a worldwide trade mark. Protection is country specific.”
  • “If you apply for a trade mark in Australia, you are only protected within Australia. Likewise, a trade mark registered in another country, is only protected in that country.”

https://search.ipaustralia.gov.au/trademarks/search/quick

  • “If you wish to file in multiple countries using a single application you may choose to apply using the Madrid Protocol. This is managed by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).”

http://www.wipo.int/branddb/en/

Snowstorm has been our WIP studio name for a couple of months but we will not confirm anything officially until we have cross-referenced it with Australian and international IP (Intellectual Property) databases.

We will sign our team up officially next week.

Leave a comment